Select Page

2018 YOUTH EMPOWERMENT SUMMIT “YES!”

March 24, 2018, Woodland, CA

EMPOWERING YOUTH TO SAY “YES!” TO LEADERHIP ROLES AND CIVIC ENGAGEMENT IN THEIR COMMUNITY

About

The Youth Empowerment Summit

“YES!” is an all day summit from 9-4 PM, of students who are interested in becoming empowered leaders in their community. You will earn community service hours for attending “YES!”. “YES!” will be at Woodland Community College. Free parking and lunch is provided.
Contact: Rhea.Gardner@cityofwoodland.org

Civic engagement and voting are all about power! All throughout history, young people have been at the forefront of change, learn more by watching the “Power of the Youth Vote” TED Talk now.

Register For

THE 2018 YOUTH EMPOWERMENT SUMMIT “YES!”

“YES!” is on Saturday, March 24 from 9:00 AM to 4:00 PM at Woodland Community College Room #800.

2300 E. Gibson Rd., Woodland, CA 95776

Youth will learn to become leaders in their community in a strictly non-partisan environment with a focus on civic engagement and voter participation as important aspects to becoming a community leader.

You will learn about the voting process; how to register, when to vote, why you should vote but NOT who to vote for.

Youth planning “YES!” with Registrar of Voters, Jesse Salinas and Women League of Voters representative, Evelia Genera.

Teens, casting votes during the mock election.


Empower youth to meet and talk to their elected officials about issues that are important to the community and youth.

You will learn public speaking and communication skills to speak confidently with elected officials about issues that are important to you.

You will get to meet and talk with Mayors, City Council Members, School Board Members, County Board Members and State Assembly Members and other elected officials from throughout Yolo County.

Teens with City of Woodland Council Members, Angel Barajas and Tom Stallard.

Share with youth the aspects of understanding local issues and how decisions are made by the various local decision making bodies.

You will learn what elected officials do and how you can influence elected official’s decisions about issues that directly impact you and your community.

Youth learning about local issues from Yolo County Board of Supervisors, Don Saylor and Jim Provenza.

Have fun, meet new people and make life-long friends!

“YES!” is a safe space that encourages youth to speak their mind and have their voices heard. Youth are welcome to come as they are and be their authentic self.

Map of Woodland Community College – “YES!” will be held at Woodland Community College’s Community Room #800

Turn in your signed photo-release form to your school liaison!

Woodland High School

Damian Martin – damian.martin@wjusd.org– (530) 662-4678

Pioneer High School

Angelica Farias – angelica.farias@wjusd.org– (530)406-1148

Davis High

Courtenay Tessler – ctessler@djusd.net

River City High (West Sacramento)

Estella Delatorre – edelatorre@wusd.k12.ca.us– (916) 375-7800 ex.2061

Esparto High

Alexis Kersting – alexis.kersting@espartok12.org – (530)787-3405 ex. 206

Winters High

Marcella Heredia – mheredia@wintersjusd.org – (530)795-6140 ex. 105

Woodland Community College's Community Room #800

“YES” 2018 will be held at Woodland Community College’s Community Room #800